Instant news 24/7

Russia has barred US Vice President Joe Biden and Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau from visiting the country.

1 min read

On Tuesday, Russia claimed it had placed US President Joe Biden, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, and a dozen other top US officials on a “stop list” that barred them from entering the country. Along with Biden, the list featured US leaders such as Defense Secretary Lloyd Austin, CIA Director William Burns, National Security Adviser Jake Sullivan, and former Secretary of State and presidential contender Hillary Clinton. The restriction was implemented in reaction to penalties imposed by Washington on Russian officials. The foreign ministry then added Trudeau to the list of sanctioned people. The steps appeared to be mostly symbolic, as the Foreign Ministry stated that it would retain official connections and, if required, would ensure that high-level discussions with those on the list could take place. Reuter

Leave a Reply