Instant news 24/7

Japan imposes further sanctions on Russian officials

1 min read

            According to the Ministry of Finance, Japan has announced a third wave of sanctions against Russia and Belarus in connection with the situation in Ukraine.

Personal sanctions are being imposed on another 20 Russians, including deputy chiefs of staff for President Vladimir Putin’s administration, deputy chairmen of the state parliament, the head of the Chechen Republic, and executives of companies with close ties to the government such as Volga Group, Transneft, and Wagner.

Twelve Belarusian persons were also targeted, along with two additional Russian and 12 Belarusian organisations.

According to the Japanese foreign ministry, Japan has also banned the transfer of oil refinery equipment to Russia as well as general-purpose products headed for Belarus that may be used by the military.

Leave a Reply