Instant news 24/7

Injured Ravindra Jadeja Ruled Out As BCCI Makes Changes To 17-Man ODI Squad For Bangladesh Series

1 min read
Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja

The BCCI announced a revised 17-man squad on Wednesday for the three-match ODI series against Bangladesh that gets underway in Mirpur on December 4. Indian fans will be concerned that star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja would be completely sidelined due to a knee injury, even though Kuldeep Sen replacing the young Yash Dayal is one headline.

Jadeja lost the T20 World Cup in Australia as well after suffering an injury earlier this year during the Asia Cup. Ravindra Jadeja has been replaced in the team by Bengal all-rounder Shahbaz Ahmed.

Shahbaz earned his One-Day India debut against South Africa in September of this year and is currently a member of the team for the ODI match against New Zealand. The left-arm spinner has recently been in fantastic form, taking 11 wickets in six Vijay Hazare Trophy games. He recorded two fifties while still in the game, batting lower in the order.

And meanwhile, Suryakumar Yadav getting some much-needed rest and Rajat Patidar receiving the nod are both positive developments for the ODI team as they prepare for a busy schedule in 2019. Washington Sundar and Young Ishan Kishan are also on the team and are anticipated to play some roles in the middle.

Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj, Mohammad Shami, and Deepak Chahar are some of the pace bowlers, while Jasprit Bumrah is still sidelined with a back injury.

Visit us on:

Leave a Reply