Instant news 24/7

IND vs WI first t20; IND won by six wickets

2 min read

          Suryakumar Yadav and Venkatesh Iyer paired up for 48 runs for the fifth wicket as India defeated West Indies by six wickets in the inaugural Twenty20 International in Kolkata on Wednesday. Suryakumar returned undefeated on 34(18), while Iyer contributed 24(13) as India brought down the 158-run goal with seven balls remaining. After asking the West Indies to bat first, they built up 157/7 in 20 overs. In response, India scored 50 runs in the first five overs. Ishan Kishan took his time getting started, but he ramped up the tempo when Rohit Sharma blasted Odean Smith for 22 runs in one over. Their partnership came to an end on 64 when Roston Chase bowled Rohit (40 off 19). Following his dismissal, India lost three wickets in a row, to Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, and Rishabh Pant. Suryakumar’s outstanding performance, on the other hand, enabled India handily win the tournament. Bhuvneshwar Kumar had earlier removed Brandon King in the first innings to provide an early breakthrough. Kyle Mayers and Nicholas Pooran then traded boundaries to get the visitors to 50 in 7 overs. Yuzvendra Chahal, though, broke the tie by dispatching Kyle Mayers on 34. WI had reached 71/2 by the midway point. As 11 overs, the score was 74/4 after newcomer Ravi Bishnoi took two wickets in the same over, dismissing Powell (2) and Chase (4). Deepak Chahar returned a few overs later to dismiss Akeal Hosein. Pooran injected new life into the innings with a stunning half-century. He was subsequently caught on 61 by Harshal Patel, who also bowled a stunning final over to help India reduce the West Indies to 157/7 in 20 overs.

Leave a Reply