Instant news 24/7

George RR Martin says Game of Thrones Spinoffs is Affected by Warner Bros Discovery Merger

2 min read
George RR Martin

George RR Martin

The creation of upcoming projects set in the universe has been impacted by the merger between Warner Bros and Discovery, according to the author of the fantasy book series A Song of Ice and Fire and the creator of the world of HBO’s Game of Thrones and House of the Dragon.

David Zaslav, who works for the new Warner Bros. Discovery company, has witnessed the termination of multiple projects, some of which had already wrapped up production. This also applies to the $90 million Batgirl film. There are other shows in the same universe currently developing at HBO, aside from House of the Dragon, which is a precursor to Game of Thrones.

Martin in a new blog post titled Stuff and Nonsense, said yes. While talking about the successor shows, he said, “Some of those are moving faster than others, as is always the case with development. None have been greenlit yet, though we are hoping. Maybe soon. A couple has been shelved, but I would disagree that they are dead. You can take something off the shelf as easily as you can put it on the shelf. All the changes at HBO Max have impacted us, certainly.”

Only one of those programs is currently a sequel. It continues the narrative of Jon Snow’s journeys outside the Wall. If approved, Kit Harington will reprise his role in the show. The Sea Snake is the tale of Corlys Velaryon, the head of House Velaryon and the most accomplished Westeros sailor ever to live. British actor Steve Toussaint plays a role in House of the Dragon.

Ten Thousand Ships is another, which would follow the renowned warrior-queen Nymeria, who accompanied the Rhoynar to Westeros after being attacked by the lords of Valyrian Freehold and their dragons. She transported her people to Dorne, currently in the south of Westeros. She married the local King Mors Martell and founded House Martell.

Martin will produce the animated television series The Golden Empire, focusing on the world’s most eastern region. One of the three known continents in this make-believe world is Westeros, where most of A Song of Ice and Fire takes place. Although Westeros only had one monarchy, it is known as the Seven Kingdoms because it was split into seven distinct realms three centuries before the series of events. The Wall, a barrier constructed to safeguard the Seven Kingdoms from dangers posed by the icy wastes, borders the realm’s northern portion.

visit us on:

Leave a Reply