Instant news 24/7

David Warner, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell resting for limited overs series against Pakistan

2 min read

            Star opener David Warner, Test captain Pat Cummins, and all-rounder Glenn Maxwell were among the major names left out of Australia’s 16-man white-ball team for the Pakistan series announced on Tuesday.

Cummins and Warner, as well as bowlers Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Nathan Lyon, have been named to Australia’s Three-Test tour to Pakistan, but will not be participating once that series concludes.

Australia will go to Pakistan for the first time since 1998, playing Test matches in Rawalpindi, Karachi, and Lahore before returning to Rawalpindi for limited-overs matches from March 29 to April 5.

Aaron Finch will captain a limited-overs team of 16 players that includes test players Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marnus Labuschagne, and Steve Smith.

“We have chosen a competent and flexible group to face a multitude of obstacles”, national selector George Bailey said in a statement. The tour structure of mostly 50-over games in the medium to long term, management of multiple multi-format players in the medium to long term, and our desire to build experience and depth in preparation for two short-form World Cups in the following 18 months. “We’re sure that the group can compete effectively on this trip while also progressing towards those important championships”.

The one-day international series will start off on March 29, with additional matches scheduled for March 31 and April 2. The two sides will then play a one-off T20 match on April 5.

Aaron Finch, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa is the Australia limited-overs squad.

Leave a Reply